Wednesday, September 7, 2011

Trevi & Top Chef: Study Abroad Students

Tuesday September 6:
So today I had class from 10:30-3:30. First Intro to Entrepreneurship. It was nice. The class seems really interesting. A lot of really smart people in that class. Then was Cognitive Psych. Let's just say I was being put to sleep and the class has now been dropped. I then had an hour break, which Camile and I took advantage of and got some gelato. Unfortunately, I was hoping for the same caramel creme gelato we had before, but due to some mixed up gelato signs, we got the wrong kind. FAIL. Whatevs. Next time. Last class was International Business...which will probably be switched out for digital photography. Haha

After class, I came back home, had a snack, and rested. Then I hung out with Camile, Jules, and Chelsea and we planned out our fantastic dinner that we'd cook for the boys (the boys being Andrew, Joe, Claudio, and Vince who live pretty much across the street from us.) After watching YouTube videos (including cat daddy, some Berkley soccer boys, and a few others), we decided to get ready and set out for an adventure.



Vince was the lucky man of the night and got to accompany us 4 girls. We set our minds on the prize: the Trevi Fountain. About and hour after we left the apartment, we heard the wonderful sounds of water flowing, and low and behold, there was the amazing Trevi Fountain.

Isn't it pretty?

Of course, everyone needs a throwing the penny in the fountain picture.

After throwing some pennies in, making wishes, and taking plenty of photos, we made a trip to a cute little gelato store. I had a lovely nutella crepe (you could never go wrong with nutella) and everyone else got gelato. It was a fantastic choice. Then we headed back and called it a night.

Wednesday September 7
So today was filled with excitement over the dinner we had. We had thought long and hard about what to make these boys. We now have an ongoing competition to see who can out cook the other apartment. Well I had class at 10:30 and then (after a 2 hour break) at 12:45 (yup! switched my 8:30 am class. Woot.) The 2 hour break was spent dropping my cognitive psych class and running into Claudio and chatting about jelly fish and plane rides (among other things). Class was good. Nothing too exciting.

After class, I headed back and Camile and I started slaving away in the kitchen. Not so much slaving but just chopping up tomatoes and slicing bread. Jules and Chelsea came home soon after and we all cooked up a storm.

On the menu for the night:
- Bruschetta
- Caprese Salad
- Breaded Chicken
- Alfredo Pasta

Drinks:
- Sangria (homemade!)
- White wine (which Vince was brave enough to drink)
- Orange soda

It was quite the feast. The boys were very impressed when they came over, as were we with their fancy attire of dress shirts and pants. Overall, dinner was quite the success with awesome company. Next week: the boys cook. We'll see how they do. We'll have to one-up whatever they cook.

Pictures from dinner to come soon!

Emanuel Bullets:
Tuesday:
- Class
- Rest
- Trevi Fountain
- Nutella Crepe

Wednesday:
- Class
- Cook dinner
- Amazing dinner with fun friends

Sunday, September 4, 2011

Walking Tour!

Sunday September 4:
So today I woke up a bit early around 10 (relative to my 3 am bedtime). After some time, Camile woke up and we decided to wake up Chelsea and Jules to go to the flea market. We all got ready and headed over to this amazing flea market. There were so many cute, antique-y things there. Since I lost 2 pairs of sandals yesterday, I figured I should buy some. I found 2 pairs of sandals that were decently cute for 5 euro and 3 euro. I left there a happy camper. After, Camile went to school to see where her classes are and Chelsea, Jules and I went back to the apartment to get ready for the walking tour. After a struggle with the door knob, we finally got in, rested and headed towards JCU for the walking tour.

The walking tour was long, but I got a chance to talk with some orientation guys that went to JCU and were pretty nice. We went throughout Rome and ended up at this amazing, beautiful basilica where a wedding was going on. We got there right as the bride was going to start walking down the aisle. She looked beautiful. The church was amazing too. When going to the Colosseum we decided to drop out because we had already seen it (they weren't going inside of it, otherwise we would've stayed.) On our way back, we decided to get some energy and had some gelato. Pretty good chocolate chip gelato. Definitely within the top 3. We finally made it back to our apartment area and decided to stop at the market, however it was closed... as was just about all the other restaurants/markets/shops. Note to self: places are closed Sunday. We headed back to the apartment, got ready and went out to dinner with Chelsea, Jules, and Camile.

We went to this amazing pizza place that they had been to on the first night here. Apparently it's also in Rick Steves' book. I got a mushroom and sausage pizza. It was so good. We're definitely going back again. We went to get gelato, and it started to rain, but of course that didn't stop us. I decided not to get gelato, I was stuffed from the pizza. But some raindrops, gelato, and a few miles later we were finally back at home. I showered and skyped with The O's (my cousins Orlee, Odie, and Orel) and then went to sleep.

Monday Sept 5:
This morning I woke up at about 6:40 with first day of school jitters. I got ready and headed out around 7:37. Apparently we've sped up our walking time because by 8:01 I was at school... 30 minutes early. Thank goodness for my ipod, Mumford and Sons, and fruit ninja. Haha. Finally my first class, Italian 1, started. It was fun. Learned how to say "I am...", so we'd introduce ourselves like, "Yo sono Jasmine. Sono Americano. Sono di Los Angeles." Then we just went over some vocabulary words. After, I had Human Rights. The class seems really interesting. She just went over the syllabus and then dismissed us. Overall school was good.

After school I decided to stop by the market and pick up a few things so I could take lunches to school. Then, I came home and found 2 maintenance workers fixing our fan and installing our shower head, so I hung out in my room to stay out of their way, and after they had finished fixing everything, I made the best panini ever. So it had pesto, garlic, a bit of olive oil, mozzarella, salami, prosciutto, tomato, and basil in it. It was really good. Definitely will be making it again. After that delicious meal, I went over to the boys' apartment and hung out with Joe and Andrew. We played Egyptian Ratscrew. Andrew and I got owned by Joe. He's a maniac at it. Haha. Eventually Claudio and Vince came home and I went on a trip with them to the market. After the market I headed home. I was able to switch my Italian class to a 1:45 class so I don't have to wake up ridiculously early. Yay. Anyway, we hung out and later, Chelsea, Jules, Camile, and I went out for gelato with the boys. I got the tiramisu gelato (my aunt's recommendation), and it was pretty freakin' good. It was a fun and relaxing day/night.

Tomorrow I have a few hours of class then hopefully I'm going to get my books to unfortunately start on some reading/homework. Lame.

Emanuel Bullets:

Sunday Sept 4:
- Flea market
- Walking tour
- Supermarket fail (closed)
- Great pizza place
- Skype with O's

Monday Sept 5:
- School 8:30-11:45
- Market
- Amazing panini
- Friend's apartment
- Egyptian Ratscrew
- Gelato

Saturday, September 3, 2011

Vatican.

So today was a relatively relaxing day. Camile and I got up around 11:00 and grabbed lunch at a small cafe. After we went and got some gelato. I got nutella gelato but wasn't too impressed with it. There were too many chunks of chocolate in it. And yes, I realize many of you are thinking that there's no such thing as "too many chunks of chocolate."

So after, we were walking to the tabacchi store, I tripped (didn't fall), and managed to rip my sandals. Luckily we were across from the apartment, so we went back and picked up some new ones. Then we walked around for a bit and came back to the apartment to sleep. After a nice nap, we went and made dinner. We made a caprese salad and garlic/olive oil pasta. It was pretty good. After some skyping and showering, we got ready to head out for the night. Jules and Chelsea stayed in to look up trips, so it was just Camile and I that went out. We went to our friends' apartment across the street, hung out there for a bit then started on our trek.

Camile, Vince, Joe, Andrew, Claudio and I started our 1 hour trek to the Vatican. Let me tell you - it was completely worth it. Even from hundreds of feet away, it was the most beautiful place ever. The plaza, St. Peter's Square, is circular, with an obelisk (yes. I googled the name of it) in the center, which was originally taken from Egypt. The main building is between two long sections of columns that contain statues of saints on them. On top of the main basilica are the 12 apostles, with Jesus in the middle. Needles to say, this was one of the most beautiful buildings I've ever seen. I will definitely be visiting again many times.

The beautiful basilica. If you look hard, you can see the statues that are lined on top of the columns.

The main basilica. The statue in the center is Christ holding a cross. On the sides of him are the 12 apostles.

The group of us (L to R) Vince, Camile, me, Claudio, Andrew, and Joe.

After we left the Vatican, we were hungry, so we headed over the bridge in search of a decent restaurant. We finally settles on a small pizzeria. Camile and I split a procuitto that was pretty good. After gathering up some energy again, we started our walk back. After about 5 minutes, we found ourselves in Campo de Fiori once again. We ran into a group of our friends that were heading back to the apartments as well, so they joined us in our walk back. After about 5 minutes, my sandal got stepped on, and once again, it was ripped. Haha. Unfortunately, I wasn't as lucky as I was last time, and instead had an hour walk back to my apartment, and I wasn't going to walk barefoot. As lovely as Rome is, the streets are dirty and have broken glass and dog ..... on it. So I sucked it up and hobbled with a broken sandal for about 15 minutes until it just wasn't happening anymore. One of our friends Andrew offered to give me a piggy back ride. It was really nice of him. After 15 minutes of being on the train and falling onto some girls lap, we finally made it to our stop... except then we forgot to get off and got off at the next stop. So, once again, Andrew offered to give me a piggy back ride. What a gentleman. We finally made it back to our apartment around 1:40 am. After skyping with my family and a great night, I finally went to bed around 2.

Emanuel Bullets
- Bum around
- Caprese & olive oil/garlic pasta
- Vatican
- Pizza
- Ripped sandal
- Train

Friday, September 2, 2011

True Life: I'm a Geek for Ruins.

So the last 48 hours have been absolutely amazing.

Day 3:

Yesterday we went to Ostia Antica. In the morning, a group of us went to grab a quick breakfast (nutella croissant with ice tea) and went on our way to meet the school for our outing. Ostia Antica is about 45 minutes via bus away from Trastevere. It's a town that was a naval town off the coast of the Ostia Harbor. It's a whole town that's so well preserved.

Some of the us before the tour!

Their Necropolis where the wealthy people in their town were buried. They each have their own tomb. Some sarcophagi lined the road where we walked... the road that was the same one they walked on.

Next we came across their amphitheater which was amazing and beautiful.

Roommate picture in the ampitheater! (Claire was in another group :/)


After Ostia Antica, we went to Borgo di Traghata. This is an organic farm that is completely amazing. We had a 4 course meal there that was made using ingredients grown directly on the farm.

All the roommates!

Our adorable table.

First course: White and Tomato Pizza; Red Chicory, Ham and Mozzarella Tart; Cous-Cous with Vegetables

Second Course: Spaghetti Pasta Amatriciana Style

Third Course: Chicken with Peppers served with Roasted Potatoes

Fourth Course: Apple Cake with Raisins

All in all, the meal was amazing. Definitely recommend looking them up and going there. They even have rooms you can stay in and a pool area for lounging.

After we got to walk around the farm for a bit and were given a tour by Dominic (pronounced dominque.) He was a nice French man that spoke broken English and worked at the farm. We learned that the farm does weddings there. That day they had 2 weddings, and the next, 5. It was an absolutely beautiful place.

Dominic and I.

We eventually got back onto the bus and headed back towards campus, where once there we had a 40 minute trek back to our apartment. After a quick freshen up, Jules, Chelsea and I went back to JCU for a welcome dinner. It was nothing exciting. After, we went across the street to the Tiber and watched the sunset. It was beautiful. We crossed over the bridge and walked around Rome and ran into some random ancient ruins and a piano recital in the middle of them. It was pretty awesome. Eventually we went back to the apartment and called it a night.

Day 4:

We had apartment inspections in the morning and then were off to do whatever we wanted. Camille, Claire and I went to the market to buy a few things. I made some amazing gnocchi with this pepper pasta sauce and a caprese salad. After, we me, Jules, Chelsea, and Camille went with a big group of others to the Colosseum. On our way we stopped at this gelato place and got caramel something gelato. The best I've had here so far (been to 4 places.) So after gelato, we went across the bridge and took a bus (even though we didn't need it at all) to the Colosseum. I was in awe. It's amazing. We didn't go inside yet, but I definitely will (at least once.) We walked around there for a bit. Saw a bride and groom taking pictures (how cute), and then started to head back. We walked around aimlessly and eventually found our way and got back to the apartment. We freshened up and got ready to go for a walking tour of Rome with Andy Steeves (the travel book, Rick Steeves, writer's son.)

We went through Rome, through different places (not many) including Campo de Fiori (Square of Flowers) where they used to have a dump, but then the government made it illegal to dump waste, punishable by death, so after it was cleaned up it was made into a flower mart. Apparently every morning they have a nice flower mart. Definitely will need to check it out. We also went to the Pantheon. We only saw it from the outside, but it was amazing. After, we went to dinner at this place that was right behind the Pantheon. The restaurant had a special for the entire group (of about 50) where it was 15 euro for a lot of courses and wine. The meal was so good. After, we went to Giolitti (the oldest gelato parlor). I tried caramel and banana. Nothing special. After, me, Jules, Chelsea, Camille, Matt and James went out. First we went to the Drunken Ship. Typical American college bar. Then we walked around for a bit and met a bunch of really cool people. We went to some club, but left after 15 minutes cause it was lame. After we went to a club called Boom. It's in this sketch little alley, where you cant hear any noise. They have to open one door and you stand in an area until they close the door, then they open the other door into a club. It was a lot of fun. I'll leave it at that. We eventually left at 3:30 and got back to the apartment around 4. Needless to say, it was a really fun night.

Emanuel Bullets:
Day 3:
- Ostia Antica
- Amazing lunch at organic farm
- Tiber river
- Random ruins

Day 4:
- Catch up on sleep
- Colosseum
- Andy Steeves tour
- Amazing dinner
- Gelato
- Clubs

Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Ciao Roma!

So, I'm finally here! I've spent my first official 24 hours in Rome and it's been amazing!

So I landed here around 5:40 yesterday afternoon. The flight was alright. Slept, was served a meal that was completely inedible minus the packaged crackers and cheese. I don't even know what meal it was or what I was served. Some sort of meat that looked disgusting. They didn't play any movies so of course I resorted to my favorite movie (which happens to be in my itunes library) - Up! A little over half way through, I saw a bunch of people turn around and look towards the back of the plane, so I automatically pulled out my headphones and tried to see what was going on. I couldn't see anything cause there was a huddle of people, but there was a flight attendant walking down the aisle asking if there was a doctor on the plane. My heart sank as I thought "Someone is having a heart attack or dying and we need to land and I'm never going to get to Rome." The crowd cleared as a dad picked up his daughter and I saw a little blood from her mouth. Phew. Dodged that bullet. Anyway, after landing, I went through customs really quickly - like 30 seconds and headed to pick up my bags. I wanted to get a cart which costs 2 euro, so I needed to break a 50 euro, put my 50 euro in the change machine and got 6 euro out. Problem? I think so. So I took my receipt and went on a hunt throughout baggage claims to see who can give me the rest of my 44 euro, but found out I needed my bags because I had to leave baggage claims to get the refund. Got my bags. Finally got my refund. Found the SAI rep and headed to the Hilton to check in. Checked in. 8:30ish got dropped off at my apt building. Lugged 3 suitcases up 2 flights of stairs. Fun times.

When I got there, only 1 roommate was home and she was sleeping. I didn't even know she was home till the other 3 got back and told me she was at the apt, sleeping. I unpacked my stuff and took a shower, and the other 3 roommates came home a bit later around 10:30 or so. So my roommate is Camille, who goes to St. Mary's College in Monterey (like about...45/80 of the students do.) She's really nice and we get along really well. In the other room are Jules and Chelsea, friends from NY who both go to Pace. Then Claire lives in the single room, she also goes to St. Mary's. We went to bed relatively early at 11:30 (at least for my 2:30 am nights I've had for the past week.) My apartment is in a cute neighborhood in Rome called Trastevere, which is just across the Tiber.
The little corridor when you get in. My room is the first on the right. Bathroom at the end of the hall. Kitchen (out of picture) is directly to my right.

My room (my side of it). There's a balcony on the right side of the picture that overlooks a little street. It's cute.

The kitchen with a little fridge and a tiny clothing washer.

In the morning we all woke up and got ready for orientation. After walking to campus, I've come to a few conclusions: 1. Italy is cute and every little street is a picture. 2. I now know why Italians are slim. Without over exaggerating it, it's safe to say that the campuses (there's 2 about 10 mins distance between each other), are easily 35-40 min walk each way.. so 2 miles each way. We had orientation with SAI, then housing orientation, then went to get our student IDs taken. Apparently they feel like it's necessary to zoom REALLY close to your face. Yeah. Worst ID picture ever. Haha. Then we went to lunch at a cute little place called Margherita, and of course I got a margherita pizza. It was good. The sauce was sweeter. The Coke I had was a lot sweeter too. After, we had to walk back to our apartment to get some paperwork we forgot. On the way back, we needed a little dessert so we got some gelato. I picked the Creme flavor. It was eh. I think it's just because I was expecting vanilla and Creme is not vanilla.

Roommate lunch: (L to R) Camille, Jules, Chelsea, and Claire

Anyway, we got back to pt. 2 of orientation a bit late...20 mins late enough for the guy to stop talking and say hi as we walked into a room of 100+ students. Whoops. So people talked. Boring stuff. Cool stuff: Rick Steeves' (for all you people who know about his travel stuff) son, Andy Steeves spoke a bit. I think friday we're going on a walking tour of Rome with him. AWESOME, right?! So, registered for my permit to stay. Cell phone: check.

Went on a mission to buy essential bath stuff and some groceries. Found the best little mini-Walmart-minus-food-run-by-Asian-Italians hole in the wall store. They have everything I needed for cheap too! It was great trying to communicate if they sell bath sponges with them. Hahah. Went grocery shopping. Bought essentials: gnocchi (fresh!), fresh mozzarella, tomatoes, and a 1.5 euro, 1.5 L bottle of red wine. Each of the 4 of us (Claire went off with her other friends) bought a bottle of a different kind of wine. Haha. We also bought groceries to cook dinner together. We made pesto pasta with some cheese in it and a caprese salad and a glass of wine. It was yummy and so fun to make dinner all together. Dessert: lady fingers and Nutella. Mmm. Took a shower and now just relaxing.

Our home-made Italian feast and fancy bottle of wine.

Anyway, I miss everyone! XOXO

Oh. So Emanuel (my brother) complained about how the posts are too long for him, so I'll have "Emanuel Bullets" on every post with the main points. Haha.

Emanuel Bullets
Day 1:
- Unpack
- Meet 3/4 of roommates
- Sleep

Day 2:
- 40 min walk to campus
- Cute Italian streets
- Orientation
- Lunch
- Gelato
- Orientation
- Meet Rick Steeves' son (Andy Steeves)
- Asian Italian mini Walmart
- 1.50 euro for 1.5L of wine
- Pesto pasta + caprese

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

This is it.

So they have free wifi at the airport and I figured I'd take advantage and update while I'm just sitting here.

The past week in Israel has been a whirlwind and went by so fast. I've had an amazing time here (given the circumstances) and am so thankful for all my family (including More and Sima who are great friends) for taking time out of their days to take me out and make sure I enjoyed my time in Israel.

This morning I went to my grandparent's house and said bye to my dad and Saba. It was really hard, but I'm happy that I've had the past week to spend with them. While we were there, we went through old pictures of my grandpa, grandma, and the rest of my family. I'll post pictures when I can (yes. I realize I've said this a million times already.)

After we left, we went to visit my uncle who passed away at the young age of 60 a few months ago. He is laid in the same cemetery as a few of this other family members who have passed, including his father. The stone that is placed for him is a double stone of marble (for my aunt, who will be alive for another 100000 years before she's placed there.) Between the two stones is a section where my cousin planted these beautiful flowers. The family name is behind the stone, and an area where candles can be placed are at the bottom of the stone. After we paid our respects, we went to the airport, which is where I am now.

Let me tell you... If you've never visited Israel, I highly recommend that you do. It's a beautiful place filled with so much history, and everyone is so friendly.

As I type this, I can see my plane pulling up to the gate. I have butterflies in my stomach. I know this trip is going to be the biggest trip of my life, and am pretty excited to see what will happen.

Anyway, next time I really will be writing to you in Rome. Ciao!