So, I'm finally here! I've spent my first official 24 hours in Rome and it's been amazing!
So I landed here around 5:40 yesterday afternoon. The flight was alright. Slept, was served a meal that was completely inedible minus the packaged crackers and cheese. I don't even know what meal it was or what I was served. Some sort of meat that looked disgusting. They didn't play any movies so of course I resorted to my favorite movie (which happens to be in my itunes library) - Up! A little over half way through, I saw a bunch of people turn around and look towards the back of the plane, so I automatically pulled out my headphones and tried to see what was going on. I couldn't see anything cause there was a huddle of people, but there was a flight attendant walking down the aisle asking if there was a doctor on the plane. My heart sank as I thought "Someone is having a heart attack or dying and we need to land and I'm never going to get to Rome." The crowd cleared as a dad picked up his daughter and I saw a little blood from her mouth. Phew. Dodged that bullet. Anyway, after landing, I went through customs really quickly - like 30 seconds and headed to pick up my bags. I wanted to get a cart which costs 2 euro, so I needed to break a 50 euro, put my 50 euro in the change machine and got 6 euro out. Problem? I think so. So I took my receipt and went on a hunt throughout baggage claims to see who can give me the rest of my 44 euro, but found out I needed my bags because I had to leave baggage claims to get the refund. Got my bags. Finally got my refund. Found the SAI rep and headed to the Hilton to check in. Checked in. 8:30ish got dropped off at my apt building. Lugged 3 suitcases up 2 flights of stairs. Fun times.
When I got there, only 1 roommate was home and she was sleeping. I didn't even know she was home till the other 3 got back and told me she was at the apt, sleeping. I unpacked my stuff and took a shower, and the other 3 roommates came home a bit later around 10:30 or so. So my roommate is Camille, who goes to St. Mary's College in Monterey (like about...45/80 of the students do.) She's really nice and we get along really well. In the other room are Jules and Chelsea, friends from NY who both go to Pace. Then Claire lives in the single room, she also goes to St. Mary's. We went to bed relatively early at 11:30 (at least for my 2:30 am nights I've had for the past week.) My apartment is in a cute neighborhood in Rome called Trastevere, which is just across the Tiber.

The little corridor when you get in. My room is the first on the right. Bathroom at the end of the hall. Kitchen (out of picture) is directly to my right.
My room (my side of it). There's a balcony on the right side of the picture that overlooks a little street. It's cute.
The kitchen with a little fridge and a tiny clothing washer.
In the morning we all woke up and got ready for orientation. After walking to campus, I've come to a few conclusions: 1. Italy is cute and every little street is a picture. 2. I now know why Italians are slim. Without over exaggerating it, it's safe to say that the campuses (there's 2 about 10 mins distance between each other), are easily 35-40 min walk each way.. so 2 miles each way. We had orientation with SAI, then housing orientation, then went to get our student IDs taken. Apparently they feel like it's necessary to zoom REALLY close to your face. Yeah. Worst ID picture ever. Haha. Then we went to lunch at a cute little place called Margherita, and of course I got a margherita pizza. It was good. The sauce was sweeter. The Coke I had was a lot sweeter too. After, we had to walk back to our apartment to get some paperwork we forgot. On the way back, we needed a little dessert so we got some gelato. I picked the Creme flavor. It was eh. I think it's just because I was expecting vanilla and Creme is not vanilla.
Roommate lunch: (L to R) Camille, Jules, Chelsea, and Claire
Anyway, we got back to pt. 2 of orientation a bit late...20 mins late enough for the guy to stop talking and say hi as we walked into a room of 100+ students. Whoops. So people talked. Boring stuff. Cool stuff: Rick Steeves' (for all you people who know about his travel stuff) son, Andy Steeves spoke a bit. I think friday we're going on a walking tour of Rome with him. AWESOME, right?! So, registered for my permit to stay. Cell phone: check.
Went on a mission to buy essential bath stuff and some groceries. Found the best little mini-Walmart-minus-food-run-by-Asian-Italians hole in the wall store. They have everything I needed for cheap too! It was great trying to communicate if they sell bath sponges with them. Hahah. Went grocery shopping. Bought essentials: gnocchi (fresh!), fresh mozzarella, tomatoes, and a 1.5 euro, 1.5 L bottle of red wine. Each of the 4 of us (Claire went off with her other friends) bought a bottle of a different kind of wine. Haha. We also bought groceries to cook dinner together. We made pesto pasta with some cheese in it and a caprese salad and a glass of wine. It was yummy and so fun to make dinner all together. Dessert: lady fingers and Nutella. Mmm. Took a shower and now just relaxing.
Our home-made Italian feast and fancy bottle of wine.
Anyway, I miss everyone! XOXO
Oh. So Emanuel (my brother) complained about how the posts are too long for him, so I'll have "Emanuel Bullets" on every post with the main points. Haha.
Emanuel Bullets
Day 1:
- Unpack
- Meet 3/4 of roommates
- Sleep
Day 2:
- 40 min walk to campus
- Cute Italian streets
- Orientation
- Lunch
- Gelato
- Orientation
- Meet Rick Steeves' son (Andy Steeves)
- Asian Italian mini Walmart
- 1.50 euro for 1.5L of wine
- Pesto pasta + caprese