Click it.
Thursday, September 8, 2011
Wednesday, September 7, 2011
Trevi & Top Chef: Study Abroad Students
Tuesday September 6:
So today I had class from 10:30-3:30. First Intro to Entrepreneurship. It was nice. The class seems really interesting. A lot of really smart people in that class. Then was Cognitive Psych. Let's just say I was being put to sleep and the class has now been dropped. I then had an hour break, which Camile and I took advantage of and got some gelato. Unfortunately, I was hoping for the same caramel creme gelato we had before, but due to some mixed up gelato signs, we got the wrong kind. FAIL. Whatevs. Next time. Last class was International Business...which will probably be switched out for digital photography. Haha
After class, I came back home, had a snack, and rested. Then I hung out with Camile, Jules, and Chelsea and we planned out our fantastic dinner that we'd cook for the boys (the boys being Andrew, Joe, Claudio, and Vince who live pretty much across the street from us.) After watching YouTube videos (including cat daddy, some Berkley soccer boys, and a few others), we decided to get ready and set out for an adventure.
Vince was the lucky man of the night and got to accompany us 4 girls. We set our minds on the prize: the Trevi Fountain. About and hour after we left the apartment, we heard the wonderful sounds of water flowing, and low and behold, there was the amazing Trevi Fountain.
Isn't it pretty?

Of course, everyone needs a throwing the penny in the fountain picture.
After throwing some pennies in, making wishes, and taking plenty of photos, we made a trip to a cute little gelato store. I had a lovely nutella crepe (you could never go wrong with nutella) and everyone else got gelato. It was a fantastic choice. Then we headed back and called it a night.
Wednesday September 7
So today was filled with excitement over the dinner we had. We had thought long and hard about what to make these boys. We now have an ongoing competition to see who can out cook the other apartment. Well I had class at 10:30 and then (after a 2 hour break) at 12:45 (yup! switched my 8:30 am class. Woot.) The 2 hour break was spent dropping my cognitive psych class and running into Claudio and chatting about jelly fish and plane rides (among other things). Class was good. Nothing too exciting.
After class, I headed back and Camile and I started slaving away in the kitchen. Not so much slaving but just chopping up tomatoes and slicing bread. Jules and Chelsea came home soon after and we all cooked up a storm.
On the menu for the night:
- Bruschetta
- Caprese Salad
- Breaded Chicken
- Alfredo Pasta
Drinks:
- Sangria (homemade!)
- White wine (which Vince was brave enough to drink)
- Orange soda
It was quite the feast. The boys were very impressed when they came over, as were we with their fancy attire of dress shirts and pants. Overall, dinner was quite the success with awesome company. Next week: the boys cook. We'll see how they do. We'll have to one-up whatever they cook.
Pictures from dinner to come soon!
Emanuel Bullets:
Tuesday:
- Class
- Rest
- Trevi Fountain
- Nutella Crepe
Wednesday:
- Class
- Cook dinner
- Amazing dinner with fun friends
Sunday, September 4, 2011
Walking Tour!
Sunday September 4:
So today I woke up a bit early around 10 (relative to my 3 am bedtime). After some time, Camile woke up and we decided to wake up Chelsea and Jules to go to the flea market. We all got ready and headed over to this amazing flea market. There were so many cute, antique-y things there. Since I lost 2 pairs of sandals yesterday, I figured I should buy some. I found 2 pairs of sandals that were decently cute for 5 euro and 3 euro. I left there a happy camper. After, Camile went to school to see where her classes are and Chelsea, Jules and I went back to the apartment to get ready for the walking tour. After a struggle with the door knob, we finally got in, rested and headed towards JCU for the walking tour.
The walking tour was long, but I got a chance to talk with some orientation guys that went to JCU and were pretty nice. We went throughout Rome and ended up at this amazing, beautiful basilica where a wedding was going on. We got there right as the bride was going to start walking down the aisle. She looked beautiful. The church was amazing too. When going to the Colosseum we decided to drop out because we had already seen it (they weren't going inside of it, otherwise we would've stayed.) On our way back, we decided to get some energy and had some gelato. Pretty good chocolate chip gelato. Definitely within the top 3. We finally made it back to our apartment area and decided to stop at the market, however it was closed... as was just about all the other restaurants/markets/shops. Note to self: places are closed Sunday. We headed back to the apartment, got ready and went out to dinner with Chelsea, Jules, and Camile.
We went to this amazing pizza place that they had been to on the first night here. Apparently it's also in Rick Steves' book. I got a mushroom and sausage pizza. It was so good. We're definitely going back again. We went to get gelato, and it started to rain, but of course that didn't stop us. I decided not to get gelato, I was stuffed from the pizza. But some raindrops, gelato, and a few miles later we were finally back at home. I showered and skyped with The O's (my cousins Orlee, Odie, and Orel) and then went to sleep.
Monday Sept 5:
This morning I woke up at about 6:40 with first day of school jitters. I got ready and headed out around 7:37. Apparently we've sped up our walking time because by 8:01 I was at school... 30 minutes early. Thank goodness for my ipod, Mumford and Sons, and fruit ninja. Haha. Finally my first class, Italian 1, started. It was fun. Learned how to say "I am...", so we'd introduce ourselves like, "Yo sono Jasmine. Sono Americano. Sono di Los Angeles." Then we just went over some vocabulary words. After, I had Human Rights. The class seems really interesting. She just went over the syllabus and then dismissed us. Overall school was good.
After school I decided to stop by the market and pick up a few things so I could take lunches to school. Then, I came home and found 2 maintenance workers fixing our fan and installing our shower head, so I hung out in my room to stay out of their way, and after they had finished fixing everything, I made the best panini ever. So it had pesto, garlic, a bit of olive oil, mozzarella, salami, prosciutto, tomato, and basil in it. It was really good. Definitely will be making it again. After that delicious meal, I went over to the boys' apartment and hung out with Joe and Andrew. We played Egyptian Ratscrew. Andrew and I got owned by Joe. He's a maniac at it. Haha. Eventually Claudio and Vince came home and I went on a trip with them to the market. After the market I headed home. I was able to switch my Italian class to a 1:45 class so I don't have to wake up ridiculously early. Yay. Anyway, we hung out and later, Chelsea, Jules, Camile, and I went out for gelato with the boys. I got the tiramisu gelato (my aunt's recommendation), and it was pretty freakin' good. It was a fun and relaxing day/night.
Tomorrow I have a few hours of class then hopefully I'm going to get my books to unfortunately start on some reading/homework. Lame.
Emanuel Bullets:
Sunday Sept 4:
- Flea market
- Walking tour
- Supermarket fail (closed)
- Great pizza place
- Skype with O's
Monday Sept 5:
- School 8:30-11:45
- Market
- Amazing panini
- Friend's apartment
- Egyptian Ratscrew
- Gelato
Saturday, September 3, 2011
Vatican.
So today was a relatively relaxing day. Camile and I got up around 11:00 and grabbed lunch at a small cafe. After we went and got some gelato. I got nutella gelato but wasn't too impressed with it. There were too many chunks of chocolate in it. And yes, I realize many of you are thinking that there's no such thing as "too many chunks of chocolate."
So after, we were walking to the tabacchi store, I tripped (didn't fall), and managed to rip my sandals. Luckily we were across from the apartment, so we went back and picked up some new ones. Then we walked around for a bit and came back to the apartment to sleep. After a nice nap, we went and made dinner. We made a caprese salad and garlic/olive oil pasta. It was pretty good. After some skyping and showering, we got ready to head out for the night. Jules and Chelsea stayed in to look up trips, so it was just Camile and I that went out. We went to our friends' apartment across the street, hung out there for a bit then started on our trek.
Camile, Vince, Joe, Andrew, Claudio and I started our 1 hour trek to the Vatican. Let me tell you - it was completely worth it. Even from hundreds of feet away, it was the most beautiful place ever. The plaza, St. Peter's Square, is circular, with an obelisk (yes. I googled the name of it) in the center, which was originally taken from Egypt. The main building is between two long sections of columns that contain statues of saints on them. On top of the main basilica are the 12 apostles, with Jesus in the middle. Needles to say, this was one of the most beautiful buildings I've ever seen. I will definitely be visiting again many times.
The beautiful basilica. If you look hard, you can see the statues that are lined on top of the columns.
The main basilica. The statue in the center is Christ holding a cross. On the sides of him are the 12 apostles.
The group of us (L to R) Vince, Camile, me, Claudio, Andrew, and Joe.
After we left the Vatican, we were hungry, so we headed over the bridge in search of a decent restaurant. We finally settles on a small pizzeria. Camile and I split a procuitto that was pretty good. After gathering up some energy again, we started our walk back. After about 5 minutes, we found ourselves in Campo de Fiori once again. We ran into a group of our friends that were heading back to the apartments as well, so they joined us in our walk back. After about 5 minutes, my sandal got stepped on, and once again, it was ripped. Haha. Unfortunately, I wasn't as lucky as I was last time, and instead had an hour walk back to my apartment, and I wasn't going to walk barefoot. As lovely as Rome is, the streets are dirty and have broken glass and dog ..... on it. So I sucked it up and hobbled with a broken sandal for about 15 minutes until it just wasn't happening anymore. One of our friends Andrew offered to give me a piggy back ride. It was really nice of him. After 15 minutes of being on the train and falling onto some girls lap, we finally made it to our stop... except then we forgot to get off and got off at the next stop. So, once again, Andrew offered to give me a piggy back ride. What a gentleman. We finally made it back to our apartment around 1:40 am. After skyping with my family and a great night, I finally went to bed around 2.
Emanuel Bullets
- Bum around
- Caprese & olive oil/garlic pasta
- Vatican
- Pizza
- Ripped sandal
- Train
Friday, September 2, 2011
True Life: I'm a Geek for Ruins.
So the last 48 hours have been absolutely amazing.
Day 3:
Yesterday we went to Ostia Antica. In the morning, a group of us went to grab a quick breakfast (nutella croissant with ice tea) and went on our way to meet the school for our outing. Ostia Antica is about 45 minutes via bus away from Trastevere. It's a town that was a naval town off the coast of the Ostia Harbor. It's a whole town that's so well preserved.
Some of the us before the tour!
Their Necropolis where the wealthy people in their town were buried. They each have their own tomb. Some sarcophagi lined the road where we walked... the road that was the same one they walked on.
Next we came across their amphitheater which was amazing and beautiful.
Roommate picture in the ampitheater! (Claire was in another group :/)
After Ostia Antica, we went to Borgo di Traghata. This is an organic farm that is completely amazing. We had a 4 course meal there that was made using ingredients grown directly on the farm.
All the roommates!
Our adorable table.
First course: White and Tomato Pizza; Red Chicory, Ham and Mozzarella Tart; Cous-Cous with Vegetables
Second Course: Spaghetti Pasta Amatriciana Style
Third Course: Chicken with Peppers served with Roasted Potatoes
Fourth Course: Apple Cake with Raisins
All in all, the meal was amazing. Definitely recommend looking them up and going there. They even have rooms you can stay in and a pool area for lounging.
After we got to walk around the farm for a bit and were given a tour by Dominic (pronounced dominque.) He was a nice French man that spoke broken English and worked at the farm. We learned that the farm does weddings there. That day they had 2 weddings, and the next, 5. It was an absolutely beautiful place.
Dominic and I.
We eventually got back onto the bus and headed back towards campus, where once there we had a 40 minute trek back to our apartment. After a quick freshen up, Jules, Chelsea and I went back to JCU for a welcome dinner. It was nothing exciting. After, we went across the street to the Tiber and watched the sunset. It was beautiful. We crossed over the bridge and walked around Rome and ran into some random ancient ruins and a piano recital in the middle of them. It was pretty awesome. Eventually we went back to the apartment and called it a night.
Day 4:
We had apartment inspections in the morning and then were off to do whatever we wanted. Camille, Claire and I went to the market to buy a few things. I made some amazing gnocchi with this pepper pasta sauce and a caprese salad. After, we me, Jules, Chelsea, and Camille went with a big group of others to the Colosseum. On our way we stopped at this gelato place and got caramel something gelato. The best I've had here so far (been to 4 places.) So after gelato, we went across the bridge and took a bus (even though we didn't need it at all) to the Colosseum. I was in awe. It's amazing. We didn't go inside yet, but I definitely will (at least once.) We walked around there for a bit. Saw a bride and groom taking pictures (how cute), and then started to head back. We walked around aimlessly and eventually found our way and got back to the apartment. We freshened up and got ready to go for a walking tour of Rome with Andy Steeves (the travel book, Rick Steeves, writer's son.)
We went through Rome, through different places (not many) including Campo de Fiori (Square of Flowers) where they used to have a dump, but then the government made it illegal to dump waste, punishable by death, so after it was cleaned up it was made into a flower mart. Apparently every morning they have a nice flower mart. Definitely will need to check it out. We also went to the Pantheon. We only saw it from the outside, but it was amazing. After, we went to dinner at this place that was right behind the Pantheon. The restaurant had a special for the entire group (of about 50) where it was 15 euro for a lot of courses and wine. The meal was so good. After, we went to Giolitti (the oldest gelato parlor). I tried caramel and banana. Nothing special. After, me, Jules, Chelsea, Camille, Matt and James went out. First we went to the Drunken Ship. Typical American college bar. Then we walked around for a bit and met a bunch of really cool people. We went to some club, but left after 15 minutes cause it was lame. After we went to a club called Boom. It's in this sketch little alley, where you cant hear any noise. They have to open one door and you stand in an area until they close the door, then they open the other door into a club. It was a lot of fun. I'll leave it at that. We eventually left at 3:30 and got back to the apartment around 4. Needless to say, it was a really fun night.
Emanuel Bullets:
Day 3:
- Ostia Antica
- Amazing lunch at organic farm
- Tiber river
- Random ruins
Day 4:
- Catch up on sleep
- Colosseum
- Andy Steeves tour
- Amazing dinner
- Gelato
- Clubs
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)